The Smart Way to Increase Your Viewership

Disclaimer: I will be using Beam.pro as my example for this but these tips can help you on Twitch, Smashcast, or any other streaming platform.

 

You spend hours a day streaming your favorite games, music, or artistic prowess. Your fingers ache, your eyes strain, and you look over at your dashboard to see you only have a few people in your channel watching. You’ve done giveaway after giveaway yet your concurrent viewers aren’t going any higher and may even be going lower.

What do you do?

Well clearly there’s something you’re not taking into account. One of the biggest things to remember as a live streamer is that you are trying to appeal to certain people. You need to have a niche. Businessdictionary.com say niches do not exist by themselves, but are created by identifying needs or wants that are not being addressed by competitors, and by offering products that satisfy them.

Now you may not be sponsored or affiliated yet but ultimately you are your own product. You are providing an entertainment service in which you are the product to share with you viewers. Your viewers are your customers and when you start performing for their needs you start to become more valuable and more of an interest.

So how do you find out what your viewers need? Well the quickest way is to be proactive. By being proactive you can explore what the community needs as a whole and target what you need to provide from there.

For instance, there have times when I have used the techniques I’m about to tell you to improve my viewership.

niche

Here’s the most recent example:

This happened literally within the last 2 weeks.

I was trying to decide what to stream that day when I had the thought of looking to see what everyone else was currently streaming and if anyone I knew was streaming. When I logged into Beam I took a look at if anyone I followed was live. As it turned out no one was online yet. So I decided to browse the site and see who was streaming what. Recently PUBG came out so a lot of people were streaming that. Unfortunately I did not have that game to play. So I took a look at some games I did have ready to play. As it turned out I had Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six Siege ready to go. So I clicked on the filter that allowed me to check who was playing and how many people were watching. Before the filtered shows came up the overall total of the viewers were a couple hundred. Usually there’s one or two streamers that had the majority of these viewers. However, to my surprise, there were multiple streamers that had a decent amount of viewers with them.

So curious I decided to play some R6S.

Not even an hour into my stream I went from 1-2 viewers to have 10-13 viewers. I started playing with some viewers and we all had a great time. That day I had a 300% increase to my channel with over 200 views and 18 followers for a 5 hour stream!

Now that may not be much but for a channel trying to get back into consistently streaming that is a very big deal.

By being proactive and check out what the community had to offer I was able to tailor my show to accommodate those that had an interest in R6S.

Now this is one way to do it. Stats are stats and the more you understand them the better your chances of growing are.

I urge you, if you’re a streamer, or even if you’re a viewer, check out what your community has to offer. See who is playing what and how many people are there. From there, tailor your needs as a streamer to give your potential viewers the chance to see your content.

I’m positive you’ll notice a significant change. If you do, tell us about it!

Leave a comment below and tell us your story! Tell us what worked or what you think you could do better!

If you have any questions please feel free to reach out to us! We are always here to help our community!

 

 

About

I'm the Captain of the Quad Squad Nation. I'm a 23 year old geek that lives for technology and games. Pretty sure I was a knight in a past life.

Posted in Blog, Tips & Tricks
2 comments on “The Smart Way to Increase Your Viewership
  1. tsbcogsworth says:

    This really helped thanks DJ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

